Diary

 

Autumn Term 2005 go to top
November 2005 go to top
Wed, 9 Nov Building and Curriculum meeting
Wed, 16 Nov, 7.00pm 'Brats' Fashion Evening, School Hall
Sat, 19 Nov Shopping trip to Leeds

Leeds Parish ChurchLeeds Parish Church:
Click on image to enlarge

Fri, 25 Nov Christmas Fair
Tue, 29 Nov 'Bags 2 School' Collection
   
December 2005 go to top
Mon, 5 Dec Governor meeting
Tue, 6 Dec, 7.30pm PTA meeting, Dog & Otter

Pub sign of Dog and Otter

Thu, 8 Dec, 1.00pm Choir to Blackburn Cathedral

Blackburn Cathedral and statue of Queen Victoria

Click on the image to hear them sing.

Wed, 14 Dec Year 1 and 2 to Gawthorpe Hall
Thu, 15 Dec Christmas Disco KS1 and KS2
Fri, 16 Dec Nursery Party
Fri, 16 Dec Year 3 & 4 Christmas Party
Mon, 19 Dec KS1 Christmas Party
Mon, 19 Dec Year 5 & 6 Christmas Party
Mon, 19 Dec, 7.00pm Choir service in Church

St Bartholomew's Church in Great Harwood

Click on the image to hear them sing.

Tue, 20 Dec, 2.30pm Church Service
Tue, 20 Dec, 3.30pm School closes
25 Dec Christmas Day

The birth of Jesus, painted by Italian painter Lorenzo Lotto in 1523

The birth of Jesus
painted by Italian painter
Lorenzo Lotto in 1523

Click here: O come, let us adore him, Christ the Lord

Texts of Christmas carols

   
Spring Term 2006 go to top
January 2006 go to top
Thu, 5 Jan School re-opens
   
   
February 2006 go to top
   
   
   
March 2006 go to top
   
   
   
April 2006 go to top
   
   
16 Apr Easter Sunday
The risen Christ, painted by German painter Matthias Grünewald, 1475-1528

The Resurrection:
Painted by German painter
Matthias Grünewald, 1475-1528

  Click on the image to hear trumpets and people rejoyce because Christ is risen today.
   
   
Summer Term 2006 go to top
   
May 2006 go to top
   
   
   
June 2006 go to top
   
11 Jun Pentecost

The descent of the Holy Spirit in tongues of fire

The descent of the Holy Spirit in tongues of fire
painted by Spanish painter
El Greco, 1541-1614

   
July 2006 go to top
Mon, 3 July Science week
Tu-We, 4-5 Jul Music workshop
Wed, 5 July Road Safety
Thu, 6 July Bug Box
Thu, 6 July Marvellous Materials show Juniors
Fri, 7 July County analyst visit to school
Tue, 11 July Sports day
Wed, 12 July Sports day
Thu, 13 July, 2.30pm Leavers Service in Church
Thu, 13 July, 6.30pm Year six School disco (Leavers' Disco) 'Glam and famous' theme
Fri, 14 July School closes for summer
   
August 2006 go to top
   
   
Autumn Term 2006 go to top
   
Sep 2006 go to top
Mon, 4 Sep School opens
   
   
Oct 2006 go to top
Fri, 20 Oct School closes
Tue, 31 Oct TD2
   
Nov 2006 go to top
Wed, 1 Nov TD3
Thu, 2 Nov School opens
   
Dec 2006 go to top
Tue, 19 Dec School Closes
Wed, 20 Dec TD 4
   
Jan 2007 go to top
Wed, 3 Jan School opens
   
Feb 2007 go to top
Fri, 9 Feb School closes
Mon, 19 Feb School opens

 
Mar 2007 go to top
Fri, 30 Mar School closes
   
Apr 2007 go to top
Mon, 16 Apr School opens
   
May 2007 go to top
Mon, 7 May School is closed
Fri, 25 May School closed
   
June 2007 go to top
Mon, 4 June School opens
   
July 2007 go to top
Thu, 19 July School closes
Fri, 20 July TD5
   

Summer vacation 2006

24 August: Feast day of St. Bartholomew

Who was St Bartholomew (Nathanael)? go to top

He was one of the twelve apostles. He is called Bartholomew in Mark 3:18, Matthew 10:3, Luke 6:14 and Acts 1:13. In St John's gospel he is called Nathanael (John 1:45).

He was one of the first apostles called by Jesus. This is how it happened (John, chapter 1):

St Bartholomew

John 1:43 The next day Jesus decided to go to Galilee. He found Philip and said to him, "Follow me."

44 Now Philip was from Bethsaida, the city of Andrew and Peter.

45 Philip found Nathanael and said to him, "We have found him about whom Moses in the law and also the prophets wrote, Jesus son of Joseph from Nazareth."

46 Nathanael said to him, "Can anything good come out of Nazareth?" Philip said to him, "Come and see."

47 When Jesus saw Nathanael coming toward him, he said of him, "Here is truly an Israelite in whom there is no deceit!"

48 Nathanael asked him, "Where did you get to know me?" Jesus answered, "I saw you under the fig tree before Philip called you."

49 Nathanael replied, "Rabbi, you are the Son of God! You are the King of Israel!"

50 Jesus answered, "Do you believe because I told you that I saw you under the fig tree? You will see greater things than these."

51 And he said to him, "Very truly, I tell you, you will see heaven opened and the angels of God ascending and descending upon the Son of Man."

Legend says that he was killed by being skinned alive. He is the patron saint of butchers, fishermen and shoemakers.

Read his story: http://www.americancatholic.org/Features/SaintOfDay/default.asp?id=1117

 

go to top